Brook House Farm pub and restaurant has enjoyed a number of makeovers in recent years, but despite the alterations to the former farmhouse it is still possible to identify some structural features from its glory days. Standing on the corner of Middleleaze Drive and Tewkesbury Way, just inside the Swindon borough boundary, with views across Lydiard Park and its back to the sprawling town, today Brook House Farm straddles the divide between town and country. Once belonging to the St. John family at Lydiard House, a farm has stood on the site for at least 200 years, probably longer. Along with Wick Farm it made an early appearance on the 1773 Andrews and Dury map of Wiltshire. Nineteenth century particulars of the Lydiard Estate reveal that parcels of land, gardens and cottages on the two farms appear to have been interchangeable. Called Brook Farm until the beginning of the 20th century, the 165-acre dairy farm perched on the parish boundary of Lydiard Tregoze and Lydiard Mill...