The Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings was founded in 1877 by arts and crafts mastermind William Morris and leading members of the Pre-Raphaelite brotherhood. The founding members were deeply concerned that well meaning architects were scraping away the historic fabric of too many buildings in the zealous 'restorations.' By September 1943 Swindon Corporation had already called in architect John Eric Miers MacGregor, well known for his work in historic conservation and technical adviser to the Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings, to look at their most recent acquisition, Lydiard Park Mansion. This is the report he delivered in which he also had a few ideas for the House and Park - some of his remarks are particularly pertinent to how the people of Swindon feel about the House and Park today. The Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings, 55 Great Ormond Street, Queen Square, W.C.1. (Holborn 2646) To:- The Committee ...