The Windmill Hill Business Park in West Swindon with its futuristically designed buildings, opened to great acclaim in 1984. The area owes its name to the presence of a windmill in the vicinity, although not the one that stands in the Business Park today, which originally came from Chiseldon. Built in 1823, next to the cemetery on Butts Road, Chiseldon, the mill passed out of use in around 1892. After that it was used as a stable and for storage purposes, until the St. Martin's Property group began reconstruction at the Windmill Hill site in January 1984. A building more authentic to the area is the former Marsh farmhouse presently used as office accommodation. The 101-acre dairy farm, once part of the Lydiard Park Estate, belonged to the St. John family. The tithe map apportionments, produced in 1841, record ancient field names such as The Shannells and Picks Mead. Early 19th century Rate Books reveal that William Dore, founder of the ...