Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts with the label Westcott

Another week, another walk Pt III

You might think it would be difficult to miss the black and yellow warnings on the railway bridge over the road but still lorry drivers frequently get their vehicles stuck, causing delays on the road and railway. An inn has stood on the site of The Runner, formerly known as The Running Horse since the eighteenth century, but it didn't get its equine themed name until the 1820s. Formerly known as the Royal Oak, some sources claim that the pub was renamed after the circus carousel horse ride which visited the nearby Westcott Recreation Ground during the early nineteenth century. A water mill once stood on the River Ray just south of the road. Mills were an invaluable source of income for the local Lord of the Manor and appear in that all important property inventory, the Domesday Book.  In 1086 Swindon, then five separate estates, boasted two mills each valued at 4s.   Records of a mill and land in an area called Eastcott and Nethercott, later known as Westcott, date...