Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts with the label civic offices

May George

Swindon's first Lady Mayor, May George. Described as the most active and progressive member to occupy a seat on the Town Council, May George was the first woman to hold the office of Mayor of Swindon.  And apparently no one knew quite how to address her with speakers at public meetings unsure whether to call her Mr or Mrs Mayor. Sarah May Williams was born in 1883 in Craven Arms, Shropshire on the Welsh Borders, the daughter of George Williams, a railway guard and his wife Eliza.  May grew up at 2, Tabernacle Terrace, Carmarthen, one of six daughters and two sons.  No surprise that she championed the well being of mothers and children during her political career.  She served a pupil teacher apprenticeship in Carmarthen before marrying Charles Ferdinando George, a fellow teacher at Pentrepoeth Council School, in 1903. By 1911 May, Charles and their young son had moved to Swindon and were living at 85 Avenue Road. Although not a native Swindonian, Ma...

Full Council Meeting January 21st

Reminder -  Full Council Meeting, Council Chamber, Civic Offices, Euclid Street  This evening - Thursday, January 21st 7pm Having given consideration to the Friends of Lydiard Park petition (which now stands at 8,436 signatories) members of Swindon Borough Council are going to debate the subject again. Motion 7a - Lydiard Park and House (i) Councillor Garry Perkins will move: "This Council notes the online petition signed by over 8,300 people, saying: "We the undersigned oppose Swindon Borough Council's plans to hand over Lydiard House and Park to the commercial sector." This Council requests that the Board Director, Service Delivery ensures that the report scheduled to go to Cabinet in February sets out a timetable allowing a further three months for all proposals to be developed more fully so as to reflect the Council's goal of securing a sustainable future for Lydiard House and Park." (ii) Councillor Jim Robbins will move and Councillor Jim...

Looking Down on the Civic Centre in the 1950s

Two buildings in this aerial view of Swindon fifty years ago are testament to the town's continuing record of expansion. Clarence Street School on the corner of Euclid and Clarence Streets was build in 1897 at a cost of £12,091.  With accommodation for 885 children by the beginning of the new century the school was already overcrowded. The building of Euclid Street Higher Elementary School in 1904 eased the pressure somewhat.  School log books reveal that around this time Clarence Street School was divided into a separate girls' and boys' section. In 1907 J.J. Stafford was the headmaster with Miss C.J. Stiles in charge of the girls and Miss L.M. Kent, the infants' mistress.  Just two years later and the average attendances numbered 891. Fifty years later and Clarence Street School accommodated the children of Swindon newcomers moving to the new estates at Walcot and Parks.  In 1958 there were approximately 1,000 children on the roll. With a population to...